Connect with us

Technology

Google Maps brings ‘Incognito’ privacy mode to the iPhone

Published

on

The secretive incognito mode from the Chrome browser app is here for more privacy-conscious Google Maps users.

Starting Monday, Google’s navigation app will let iPhone users use the same incognito mode from Chrome web browsing to turn off activity tracking on Google Maps. The feature launched back in October  for Android users. 

Now that iOS is all caught up, users will be able to choose how much information about places they’ve searched for or navigated to is saved and stored. To turn on incognito mode, simply click on your profile photo in the top right corner of the app to toggle the mode on and off. 

Google first revealed the privacy setting back in May at the Google I/O conference. When disabled, the app will strip away any personalization, like restaurant recommendations based on other places you’ve visited. Your location history will also be cleared, so you won’t be able to look back at where you’ve been. 

Map it out privately.

Map it out privately.

Also coming up: bulk Timeline deletions. Timeline, for the unaware, uses your Location History to show a map of where you’ve been. You’ll find it within the “sandwich” icon that’s to the left of the search bar. If you keep location tracking off when you’re not using the app. your Timeline will show “no visited places.” But, if you do keep it on, you can now delete parts or all of your visited locations instead of doing it one by one. 

Like most Google tools, this feature’s coming first for Android next year. iPhone users will just have to wait — but you should be used to that by now.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Find your dream job

Trending