Connect with us


Here are the 4 Republicans who voted to condemn Trump’s tweets



The House of Representatives gathered Tuesday evening to pass a resolution to condemn President Donald Trump’s “racist comments” against four members of Congress, in which he tweeted that the congresswomen should “go back and help fix the totally broken and crime infested places from which they came.”

Trump’s comments, posted to Twitter on Sunday, targeted the freshmen “squad” of Democratic lawmakers, which include Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, Rep. Ayanna Pressley of Massachusetts, Rep. Ilhan Omar of Minnesota, and Rep. Rashida Tlaib of Michigan. Three of the four women were born in the United States. Rep. Omar fled civil war in Somalia, came to the US when she was 10 years old, and became a US citizen at age 17.

Four Republican representatives voted to pass the resolution, despite Trump’s appeals to GOP lawmakers to “not to go along,” the Associated Press reported.

The resolution passed 240 to 187, with six Republicans abstaining from voting. Here are the four Republicans and one Independent who voted with Democrats to pass the resolution, which doesn’t carry any legal consequences.

Read more: Trump says that his tweets being called racist ‘doesn’t concern’ him because ‘many people agree’ with him

Continue Reading
Advertisement Find your dream job