Connect with us


All the states with new abortion bans trying to challenge Roe v. Wade



For years, Republican-controlled state legislatures have enacted new abortion restrictions including mandating counseling, waiting periods, and expensive regulations on clinics to steadily limit access to the procedure.

The spring of 2019, however, has seen an unprecedented surge in Republican-led states passing near-total bans on most abortions.

Some legislators have explicitly stated the purpose of these bans is to bring a case before the Supreme Court that could result in the court overturning Roe v. Wade, the landmark 1973 court decision in which the court ruled that states cannot ban abortion before the point of fetal viability.

Read more: Roe v. Wade makes the state bans against abortions unenforceable. Here’s how conservative activists plan to overturn it.

In the months of April and May alone, the governors of Ohio, Georgia, and Alabama signed some of the most restrictive abortion bans in the country.

None of these new laws or any previous six-week ban states have passed, however, have formally gone into effect.

Previous six-week bans passed by North Dakota and Iowa were struck down by federal and state judges, respectively. And new abortion bans introduced by Georgia, Alabama, are currently being challenged in court by organizations including the American Civil Liberties Union, Planned Parenthood, and the Center for Reproductive Rights.

Here are all the states that have passed new abortion bans or restrictions in 2019.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Find your dream job