Connect with us


Chuka Umunna takes major role in The Independent Group of breakaway MPs | Politics News



Chuka Umunna has been named as the spokesman for The Independent Group of breakaway MPs.

The group does not have a formal leader, but the former Labour MP’s role suggests he will play a major role as TIG tries to increase its profile.

And in a sign that the group of 11 MPs expects more defections, ex-Conservative Sarah Wollaston has been given responsibility for “new colleagues”.

The 11 Independent Group MPs
TIG is made up of eight ex-Labour MPs and three former Tory MPs

Mr Umunna said: “Our team is diverse and drawn from different backgrounds, including a former teacher, social worker, lecturer, entrepreneur, solicitor and GP.

“We intend to draw on all the talents and experiences of our group, as we seek to change politics and give the British people a proper alternative to the broken politics being offered by the main political parties.

“We are not a political party and therefore do not have a leader, but the roles and responsibilities we have assigned recognise that all the members of our group have the right to be heard and a responsibility to provide leadership.

“Our structure is designed to be flexible to accommodate any changes as the group evolves and grows.”

More from The Independent Group

The Streatham MP is now sitting as an independent

MP challenged over Labour split

TIG is made up of eight ex-Labour MPs and three former Tory MPs.

They have been assigned the following roles:

:: Heidi Allen – Welfare and pensions, social care, and business
:: Luciana Berger – Home affairs, health, and digital and culture
:: Ann Coffey – Children and education
:: Mike Gapes – Foreign affairs and defence
:: Chris Leslie – Treasury and trade
:: Joan Ryan – Group business manager and international development
:: Gavin Shuker – Group convener
:: Angela Smith – Transport, local government and housing, and energy, environment and rural affairs
:: Anna Soubry – Brexit and justice (and assisting on defence)
:: Chuka Umunna – Group spokesperson, Cabinet Office, and government policy co-ordination
:: Sarah Wollaston – New colleagues.

Advertisement Find your dream job